The 2016 Capablanca Open came to an end yesterday and saw IM Daniel Jere from Zambia secure a well deserved victory with a score of 6.5/9 in the IM section of the tournament. Daniel played exceptional chess during both the PSS and Capablanca tournaments and richly deserved his victory which earned him in excess of $1000 in prize money across the two tournaments.

IM Richmond Phiri (ZAM) also played well and ended clear second on 6/9 whilst 3rd place was shared between FM Calvin Klaasen (RSA), IM Donovan van der Heever (RSA) and IM Andrew Kayonde (ZAM) who all scored 5.5/9.

In total, more than 240 players participated across the 11 different sections and we also wish to congratulate the following players who won their respective categories:

RR A: Willem Van Der Westhuizen (+43 ELO)
RR B: Ernest Tshabalala (+118 ELO)
RR C: Lawrence Tavagwisa (+118 ELO)
RR D: Yashkar Balmakhun (+94 ELO)
RR E: Ernst Rex (+87 ELO)
RR F: Victor Mantati (New FIDE Rating)
Swiss A: Johannes Moche (+89 ELO)
Swiss B: John Mkhaliphi
Swiss C: Hendrik Greyling
Swiss D: Christopher Jansen van Vuuren

The format of the event has once again proven to be highly successful and we are pleased to have been able to support this event for the past 5 years now. We specifically want to thank Phillip Silver Swartz Incorporated, Waterkloof High School, and the entire team of organizers, arbiters and officials who made this special tournament possible again this year.

We also wish to thank Mr Reint Dykema who has captured more than 100 images every round and whose fantastic photographic work from the tournament can be viewed at

Final standings from all sections as well as the pgn files are now available for download at